Interregional Steering Committee, Europe, North and Central Asia 2021-24/5

Co-Chair West Europe - Chris Mahon (United Kingdom) IUCN National Committee UK/The Sibthorp Trust

Co-Chair East Europe, North and Central Asia - Tamas Marghescu (Hungary) International Council for Game and Wildlife Conservation

Vice Co-Chair West Europe – Hans de Iongh (The Netherlands) Leo Foundation and previous IUCN Council Member

Vice Co-Chair East Europe, North and Central Asia – Alexei Zavarzin (Russian Federation) All-Russian Society of Nature Protection/IUCN Commission on Education and Communication

Co-Secretary West Europe – Ann-Katrine Garn (Denmark) IUCN National Committee Denmark/Copenhagen Zoo

Co-Secretary East Europe, North and Central Asia - Ancuta Fedorca (Romania) - Fundatia Carpati


Steering Group Members West Europe

Steering Group Members East Europe, North and Central Asia

Divija Jata (Belgium) Royal Belgian Institute for Natural Sciences

Thomas Tennhardt (Germany) Naturschutzbund Deutschland 

Anna Espadalé Gelis (Spain) Generalitat de Catalunya

 Nida Al Fulaij (United Kingdom) People’s Trust for Endangered Species

Cécile Erny (France) Association Française des Parcs Zoologiques 

Ruben Khachatryan (Armenia) Foundation for the Preservation of Wildlife and Cultural Assets

 Tamar Pataridze (Georgia) - previous IUCN Council Member

Petko Tzvetkov (Bulgaria) - Bulgarian Biodiversity Foundation

Stiliyan Geraskov (Bulgaria) Union of hunters and anglers in Bulgaria

Roman Jashenko (Republic of Kazakhstan) Institute of Zoology


Invited Councillors elected from the regions

West Europe

Hilde Eggermont (Belgium)

Sonia Castañeda Rial (Spain)

Maud Lelievre (France)

East Europe, North and Central Asia

Carl Amirgulashvili (Georgia)

Vilmos Kiszel (Hungary)

Samad-John Smaranda (Romania)


Invited Regional Office representatives

Alberto Arroya Schell (Regional Office for Europe, Brussels)

Boris Erg (East Europe, North and Central Asia Office, Belgrade)

Antonio Troya (Mediterranean Office, Malaga)


Invited representatives of the Secretariat

Sarah Over Communications Manager, Union Development Group

Constantine Makris Membership Relations Officer



 Invited representatives of the 7 IUCN Commissions 

Regional Vice-Chair, Species Survival Commission (SSC)

Regional Vice-Chair, Commission on Environmental, Economic and Social Policy (CEESP) 

Regional Vice-Chair, Commission on Ecosystem Management (CEM)

Regional Vice-Chair, Commission on Environmental Law (CEL)


Regional Vice-Chair, Commission on Education and Communication (CEC)

Regional Vice-Chair, World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA)

Regional Vice-Chair, Climate Change Commission (CCC)




 ICENCA Inaugural Meeting Minutes - 07/09/2021

Steering Committee Meeting Minutes - 22/02/2022

Steering Committee Meeting Minutes - 24/05/2022